Who’s Da Master?!…or at least one of them.

I recieved the distinct honor of being one of the judges of the Uptown Memphis Community’s annual BBQ Fest! It’s not as heralded as THE Memphis BBQ Fest but it’s quite tasty and there’s better parking. Pork shoulder, chicken, turkey burgers (best I’ve ever had), brisket and ribs all headlined the best Saturday afternoon lunch I’ve ever had. Kudos to my boy John Carroll who slipped to second place against a terrific turkey burger (and I hate turkey burgers). If there was a best sauce category John would have snagged it. The man knows sauce. Being the Grizzlies public address announcer has its perks but if I have to grunt out another awkward “Mmmmemphiiis Grrrizzlies!” in a non-basketball setting I may punch myself in the face. However, after hearing the local ABC weather guy and fellow BBQ judge Mark Walden get crap about a thunder shower after his 20% chance forecast, I won’t be complaining about yelling in public. After a long night of “Hail Marys” and “Our Fathers”, my penance for the gluttony, I look back fondly at one of the best neighborhoods in Memphis and a very fun event.

Checkout the Commercial Appeal Article that dubbs us “masters of culinary consumption“.

2 Responses to “Who’s Da Master?!…or at least one of them.”

  1. […] did new BBQ Judge Rick Trotter. I invited him to fill in for my dad since he couldn’t make it. Seems like he had a good […]

  2. Tanja Mitchell Says:

    Rick
    Thank you for being a judge AND thank you for your grunt! You know you had to say it for us!

Leave a Reply

